Board & Staff

Our Board of Directors consists of dedicated elected members who govern Mercy Ships Australia and the Mercy Ships Australia Relief Fund. The majority of our Board Members are Non-Executive Directors.

Alan Burrell BSc, MBA
Managing Director, Mercy Ships Australia

Richard Wankmuller BSCE, MSCE
Chairman, Mercy Ships Australia
Non-Executive Director

Karen Binns RN
Deputy Chair, Mercy Ships Australia
Non-Executive Director

John Wagner FFin
Regional Manager, Commonwealth Bank (retired)
Non-Executive Director

Ernst Scholtz
Human Resources Consultant
Non-Executive Director

Chris Thomas BCom, DipGrad, MBus
Senior Manager/Chapter Lead, Westpac
Non-Executive Director

Kerry Peterson
Vice President of Advancement, Mercy Ships USA
Non-Executive Director

Patrons and Ambassadors

Margo Hartley OAM
Our Patron

Lynn Ross
Our Australian Co Founder

Grace Matthew

Our Advisory Council

Anthea Iva
Founder and Director, Redstone

Chris Thomas
Senior Manager/Chapter Lead, Westpac

Ron Jackson
Human Resources Consultant

Peter Howard
Director, Accord Consulting Group – Australia

Alan Atwell
Trusts and Foundations Consultant 

Our Staff

Our experienced staff and volunteers are always here to help you if you would like more information on donating, volunteering or helping us in some way to make a difference to the forgotten poor.

Back L-R: Pat Casey, Alan Burrell, Sue Moore, Michael Conn
Front L-R: Rick Menzies, Sue O’Donnell, Toni Keighley, Margaret Stillaway, Melissa Mason

Our promise to you


Without your loyal support, we couldn’t do the vital work we do. That’s why we promise to uphold the highest ethical standards. Mercy Ships Australia is committed to keeping the people we work with all over the world safe. Right now we’re working harder than ever to ensure this. To find out more about our policies, please see below.